Election Results

  • Thu Nov 14th, 2019 2:47pm
  • News

One vote separates appointee Karin Ashton from Greg Bellamy Sr., in the race for a seat on the Clallam Bay Fire District (District 5). After Saturday’s count, Ashton had 109 votes, or 50 percent of the vote to Bellamy’s 108 votes, or 49.54 percent, a difference of 0.46 percent.

That could trigger a mandatory machine recount if the margin does not change in future counts.

A count was conducted on Saturday because the office was closed on Monday for Veterans Day.

In the only countywide race, incumbent Port of Port Angeles Commissioner Connie Beauvais retained her seat with 63.51 percent of the vote to Maury Modine’s 36.05 percent for the West End-Port Angeles-area District 3 position (13,515 to 7,671 votes).

Mike Gilstrap prevailed over Danny Smith for the Forks City Council Position 4 seat, 58.80 percent to 42.34 percent (330 to 246 votes). Jeff Gingell who ran unopposed will be joining Gilstrap at the Council table as well as incumbent Juanita Weissenfels who also ran unopposed.

From Forks, Rod Fleck will be returning to the Charter Review Commission for District 3, as well as 4 others.

Another count was set for Tuesday.