Chamber seeks ‘Best Of’ nominees

The Forks Chamber of Commerce is currently seeking nominees for the 18th annual Best of our Community Awards.

Nominees for Citizen of the Year, Volunteer of the Year and Business of the Year are needed.

Criteria for nominees are:

Citizen of the Year: the nominee must be a resident of the West End of Clallam or Jefferson County with activities centered in this area. A citizen who embodies selflessness, integrity, and promotes the good of the community through professional and/or volunteer activities. Activities or services should have been performed above the normal duties of an employed position.

Volunteer of the Year: this award is given to the volunteer most deserving of recognition for community service to a specific agency, and involvement in the West End of Clallam and Jefferson County.

Business of the Year: this award is given to a Forks Chamber of Commerce member business deemed most deserving of recognition for community service and involvement. Business practices include evidence of good business ethics and employee support.

Nomination forms are available at the Forks Visitor Information Center/Chamber Office, 1411 S. Forks Ave., or request one by email at The deadline for nominations is noon on Wednesday, Jan. 30.

Winners will be selected by the Forks Chamber of Commerce Board. Winners of the ‘Best Of Awards’ will be announced/honored at the Feb. 13 Chamber meeting at Blakeslee’s Bar and Grill, 1222 S. Forks Ave., at noon.

Past award recipients:

Listed in order: Business of the Year – Citizen of the Year – Volunteer of the Year

2001 Jerry’s Rentals, Al Monroe, Link Mueller

2002 Forks Thriftway, Jack Zaccardo, Ginger Haberman

2003 Vagabond Restaurant, Ken Schostak, Paul Headley

2004 Lloyd George Jewelry, Barb Gronseth, Chuck Smith

2005 Forks Forum, Dick Haberman, Scott Seaman

2006 Sully’s Drive-In, Pat Soderlind, Willard Morgan

2007 West End Surf Shop, Nedra Reed, Randy Mesenbrink

2008 Forks Outfitters, Bruce Guckenberg, Dave Hersom

2009 Dazzled by Twilight, John Calhoun, Warren Johnson

2010 Ken Bechtold Logging, Marcia Yanish, Christi Baron

2011 Hungry Bear Café, Robin Schostak, Leith Grahn

2012 JT’s Sweet Stuffs, Michael Gurling, Cindy Mesenbrink

2013 Chinook Pharmacy, Bruce Guckenberg, John Glover

2014 Dahlgren Logging, Edith Henry, Dean Hurn

2015 Blakeslee’s Bar & Grill, Dixie Gaydeski, Donna Kimball

2016 Forks Forum, Christi Baron – Editor, Frank Hanson, Joe Wright

2017 Clear River Construction Inc., Lonnie Archibald, Mark Soderlind

In 2016 Forks Outfitters was awarded a lifetime achievement award and in 2017 the Inez Halverson Award was introduced to acknowledge an entity that makes a difference in our community, the first recipient was Olympic Corrections Center. The “Halvie Award” is selected by the Chamber of Commerce Board.