Clallam County can apply to reopen early

OLYMPIA — Clallam County is now among those eligible to apply for an early Phase 2 reopening.

Kitsap, Mason, Thurston, Adams, Spokane, Lewis, Clark, Island and San Juan counties also were added to the list, according to Gov. Jay Inslee, who spoke Tuesday morning at a press conference.

His expanded criteria not only allows more counties to reopen more quickly but also more businesses to resume operations.

Counties apply to the state Department of Health.

Jefferson County was made eligible several weeks ago and is working on an application.

Among other requirements, counties that apply for a Phase 2 variance must have fewer than 10 new cases per 100,000 population over a 14-day span and have hospital capacity to handle a surge in coronavirus cases.

The rest of the state is scheduled to move into Phase 2 on June 1, but that date is not guaranteed.

Phase 2 allows the following businesses to reopen:

• Remaining manufacturing

• Additional construction phases

• In-home/domestic services

• Retail with restrictions

• Real estate

• Professional services and office-based businesses

• Hair and nail salons and barbers

• Pet grooming

• Restaurants/taverns with less than 50 percent capacity