West End Election Results

  • Tue Nov 14th, 2017 4:28pm
  • News

With the final votes counted Monday, Nov. 13, it appears that Tim Fletcher will be the next Mayor of Forks with 463 votes to his opponent Ken Ayers vote count of 217.

In Forks City Council races, Joe Soha received more votes than his opponent Mike Gilstrap (368-257), and Soha will take over Position No. 3. Bill Brager will remain on the city council with 456 votes to his opponent Bridgette Soha’s 185 votes for Position No. 4, though Soha endorsed Brager before the election.

City Councilman John Hillcar ran unopposed for Position No. 2.

Gerald George garnered 784 votes to his opponent Skyler DeMatties’ 594 votes for Position No. 5 on the Hospital Board of Commissioners.

In Hospital District 1, commissioners Patty Birch and Sandy Schier both ran unopposed.

In the race for Fire District 1 Commissioner Position No. 1, Dustin Kraft won with 721 votes to 295 votes for Jodi Riker. For Position No. 2, Chet Hunt received 776 votes and Britni Duncan received 322. For Position No. 5, which had three candidates, Tony Romberg received the most votes with 772, with opponents John Witherspoon (155) and Neris Biciunas (152) trailing. Giancarlo Buonpane, candidate for Position No. 4, ran unopposed.

Both candidates for Quillayute Valley Park and Recreation District, Don Grafstrom and Laura Huling, ran unopposed.

Also running unopposed were Quillayute Valley School District 402 Director Districts No. 2 and No. 4, Kevin Hinchen and Ron Hurn.

In the Cape Flattery School District Janet Campbell won 203-81 over Joe McGimpsy for Position No. 3 while Janine Ledford ran unopposed for Director Position No. 1.

Spider Wright came out on top over opponent Micheal Maines Jr., 119-64, to retains his Fire District 5 Position No. 1 seat.

For Port Angeles’ Port Commissioner District No. 1, incumbent Colleen McAleer beat her opponent Micheal Cobb with 63.72 percent of the vote. Proposition No. 1 Tax for Juvenile Detention Facilities was passed with 13,065 yes votes to 8,103 no votes.