Clallam Conservation District Board of Supervisors election and appointment

  • Thu Jan 28th, 2021 10:33am
  • News

There are 45 conservation districts in Washington State, including the Clallam County District. Conservation Districts are non-regulatory sub-divisions of state government that help land users conserve natural resources. Conservation District boards are comprised of five supervisors who meet once a month. Supervisors serve three-year terms of office as volunteers without compensation. Registered Clallam County voters elect three of the positions. The Washington State Conservation Commission appoints the other two positions. An elected position, currently held by Scott Chitwood, and an appointed position, currently held by Ben Smith will expire in the spring of 2021.

The deadline to file as a candidate is 5 p.m., Feb. 16. Interested candidates must file their information at the following location: 228 W First St., Suite H, Port Angeles, WA 98362 or by email to [email protected]

The online application deadline for the appointed position must be received by the Commission no later than March 31, 2021 For more information, or to obtain election or appointment application forms, please visit our website at or call us at 360-775-3747×4.

The 2021 election for Clallam Conservation District will be held on March 19, from noon – 8 p.m. at the Armory Square Office Building, 228 W First St., Suite H, Port Angeles, WA. Ballots for mail-in voting are available upon request. The deadline to request a mail-in ballot is 5 p.m., Feb. 26, 2021. Ballots may be requested online at or by phoning the District at 360-775-3747×4. The deadline for the District office to receive all mail-in ballots is 8 p.m., Friday, March 19. Completed ballots may be mailed or dropped in the ballot drop box just outside of the district office door in the Armory Square Building, 228 W First St., Suite H, Port Angeles, WA 98362. Mail-in ballots received after the 8 p.m., March 19 deadline will not be counted.

For additional information go to or contact the election supervisor, Judy Minnoch at [email protected] or by phone 360-775-3747×4.