Teams toss at Fourth of July Horseshoe Tournament

  • Thu Jul 13th, 2017 10:40am
  • News

Twenty-eight teams threw to the best of their abilities at the The Forks Old-Fashioned Horseshoes Tournament, which took place Saturday, July 1, at Tillicum Park.

Many new players gave it a try and, as usual, there were a lot of familiar faces in the draw on the brisk and breezy overcast day.

The winner’s bracket had several highly competitive matches which saw the defending champions, Troy Pearce and Wade McCoy, emerge unscathed awaiting the final match.

In the losers bracket, the team of Floyd McCoy and Dalton Kilmer beat the team of Monica and Mike Gilstrap to win the losers bracket and give themselves a shot in the final match.

The championship match saw Floyd and Dalton take an early lead before Wade and Troy rallied back to sneak out a 21-20 victory. They won their fourth title and the top prize of $200.

Final Results

First: Troy Pearce and Wade McCoy

Second: Floyd McCoy and Dalton Kilmer

Third: Monica Gilstrap and Mike Gilstrap

Fourth: Kenny Daman and Leon Daman

Fifth: Reggie King and Willie Hatch

Sixth: Jr. Dean and Carl Windle

Many thanks to the City of Forks maintenance staff for repairing and prepping the pits, as well as Budweiser for donating T-shirts and door prizes.