PACIFIC 2B LEAGUE SOFTBALL: Spartans get five players on first team

By Pierre LaBossiere

Olympic Peninsula News Group

FORKS — The Forks softball team dominated the all-Pacific League teams, getting five players on the first team and another three players on the second and honorable mention teams.

Making the first team were pitcher Chloe Gaydeski, Elizabeth Soto, sisters Bailey and Keira Johnson and Kaidence Rigby. These five players helped lead the Spartans to an undefeated record in the Pacific 2B league, a second-place finish at the district tournament and a trip to the state 2B tournament. The Spartans finished 17-8-1 overall.

Making the second team was Fynlie Peters, and making the honorable mention team was Karee Neel and Kendsie Thompson.

Keira Johnson, Soto and Rigby are all seniors who were also a big part of Forks’ second-place finish at state in 2023. The rest of the all-league selections are quite young as Bailey Johnson, Peters, and Neel are all freshmen and Gaydeski is a sophomore.

The Pacific 2B League most valuable player was Jessie Gilbert of Ocosta.

Full teams include:

Pacific 2B league softball

MVP: Jessie Gilbert, Ocosta.

First team: Chloe Gaydeski, Forks; Elizabeth Soto, Forks; Bailey Johnson, Forks, Keira Johnson, Forks; Kaidence Rigby, Forks; Lauren Emery, PWV; Lauren Matlock, PWV; Karli Phelps, PWV; Emma Galizer, RSB; Kassie Koski, RSB; Ava Pine, RSB; Kydnal Koski, RSB; Joanah Rosander, Ocosta; Brynn Rasmus, Ocosta; Noel Cuzdey, Ocosta.

eam: Fynlie Peters, Forks; Megan Dillie, Ilwaco; Mikaila Warfield, Ilwaco; Ashlee Payne, RSB; Berklee Morley, RSB; Jolissa Schlegal, Ocosta; Zaida Morales, Ocosta; Kylee Lyons, PWV; CJ Sipp, PWV; Sophia Milanowski, PWV.

Honorable mention: Kendsie Thompson, Forks; Karee Neel, Forks; Samantha Schlegel, Ocosta; Elia Yates, CL; Cryolee Rutledge, CL; Peyton Beck, NB; Maylyn Turner, NB; Kaylee Anderson, Ilwaco; Kaitlyn Banuet, Ilwaco; Eliza Barnum, PWV; Tylar Keeton, PWV; Macey Enlow, RSB; Summer Stigall, RSB.